Indians finalize Opening Day roster

Abraham Almonte designated for assignment

Alex Hooper
March 29, 2018 - 12:02 pm

CLEVELAND (92.3 the Fan) - The Cleveland Indians have made official their 25-man roster for Opening Day on Thursday.

The defending American League Central champions made several moves to get their roster to 25, starting with placing OF Michael Brantley, LHP Ryan Merritt, IF Gio Urshela and RHP Danny Salazar all on the 10-day disabled list retroactive to March 26th. The quartet can all make their season debuts at the Progressive Field opener on April 6th if healthy.

RHP Matt Belisle and OF Rajai Davis were added to the 40- and 25-man rosters, as OF Abraham Almonte and RHP Ben Taylor were designated for assignment.

LHP Jeff Beliveau, IF Drew Maggi, RHP Evan Marshall, C Jack Murphy and 1B Mike Napoli were reassigned to Minor League camp.

The Indians Opening Day roster is as follows:

Pitchers: Cody Allen, Trevor Bauer, Belisle, Carlos Carrasco, Mike Clevinger, Nick Goody, Corey Kluber, Zach McAlliser, Andrew Miller, Tyler Olson, Dan Otero and Josh Tomlin.

Catchers: Yan Gomes and Roberto Perez.

Infielders: 1B Yonder Alonso, 1B/DH Edwin Encarnacion, UTIL Erik Gonzalez, 2B Jason Kipnis, SS Francisco Lindor and IF Jose Ramirez.

Outfielders: Lonnie Chisenhall, Rajai Davis, Brandon Guyer, Tyler Naquin and CF Bradley Zimmer

Disabled list: Cody Anderson (60-day), Brantley, Merritt, Salazar, Urshela