NBA backs up decision to review, overturn LeBron drawn charge

Two-minute report confirms decision of officials

Alex Hooper
June 01, 2018 - 6:11 pm
May 31, 2018; Oakland, CA, USA; Golden State Warriors forward Kevin Durant (35) collides with Cleveland Cavaliers forward LeBron James (23) on a scoring drive during the second half in game one of the 2018 NBA Finals at Oracle Arena.

© Cary Edmondson-USA TODAY Sports

Categories: 

Cleveland, OH (92.3 The Fan) - The NBA's two-minute report has confirmed its officials' decision to both review an offensive foul call on Golden State's Kevin Durant, drawn by Cleveland's LeBron James, and to overturn it.

James slid over to draw a charge against Durant, and was visibly past the restricted area underneath the basket. Officials originally called an offensive foul, but reviewed the call on the grounds that James may have been within the restricted area.

“The crew was not reasonably certain whether James (CLE) was in the restricted area after an offensive foul was called against Durant (GSW),” the report said. “Upon replay review, it was confirmed that James was outside the restricted area. The referees also reviewed whether James was in a legal guarding position, which is an additional reviewable matter for this replay trigger.

“Replay showed James was not in a legal guarding position because he was turning his body and moving into Durant when contact occurred. Thus the initial call on the floor was overturned and James was assessed a blocking foul.”

The report also determined that Draymond Green should have been assessed a lane violation during George Hill’s missed free throw with 4.7 seconds remaining in the game.